About Macao

Located on China’s southern coast, 60km west of Hong Kong, Macao consists of three islands, including Macao Peninsula, Taipa and Coloane. It was colonized by the Portuguese in the 16th century, becoming the first European settlement in Asia. In 1999, Macao returned to China under its “One Country, Two Systems” policy.